SailNet Community - View Single Post - Prescription medications in your kit
View Single Post
post #17 of Old 09-28-2016
aeventyr60

Re: Prescription medications in your kit

Quote:
Originally Posted by outbound View Post
I'm a retired physician. Between the wife (RN) and I we can just about run a code on the the boat and treat sepsis as well as treat most fractures or shock. Still although I set up the kit and had the luxury of getting stuff from my hospital or office I did not. Used a friend to write 'scripts for me. That said
if you are searched while clearing in or stopped in foreign waters and you don't have the name of the person on the supplies on the boat you're probably going to be in a whole lot of hurt. No real purpose to have meds written to the boat for cruisers. Think it would be a hassle if searched and easier to just write meds to owner.
What's OTC in other countries tends to be much more extensive then what's OTC in the US. This decreases exposure for some things. There is much argument about how far out you can use meds past their expiration date. Our current med kit has gone back and forth from carribean and is two years old. In spite of being just past due everything is being replaced. We are leaving for a year on the 20th. They will remain in their orginal packing with my name on it although that's inefficient to prevent difficulties with authorities in the the future.
A more common hassle is that many daily meds come as 3 month supply. Difficult when you are out the your home country and moving for more than three months.
Most insurance requires an "indication" documented if they are going to pay for meds. Difficult for the meds usually placed in a Med kit so very expensive to replace.