SailNet Community

SailNet Community (https://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Apps & Authors (https://www.sailnet.com/forums/apps-authors/)
-   -   I've made a forecast web app (https://www.sailnet.com/forums/apps-authors/328898-ive-made-forecast-web-app.html)

laf1greg 03-23-2019 05:59 PM

I've made a forecast web app

Hi sailing community,

I've been working for 2 years on https://igetwind.com it's a wind-waves-tides forecast web app.

Basically you click on the map anywhere in the world and you get different weather models and tides. You can save up to 8 forecasts on your profile.

https://i.ibb.co/8D7GsXT/sailing2.png

Give it a try and let me know if you like it. Any constructive comment is welcome.

Thanks and good wind!

Greg

Morild 03-24-2019 11:46 AM

Re: I've made a forecast web app

I like it - good job.
It's fast, gives a great overview, and I really like that you save my settings and locations, without me having to create a profile/login.
Cookies or local storage I guess? (Didn't bother to check)
Good stuff.

What I would love, would be the ability to see a graph (linegraph) illustrating the wind-strength for all the models in the same view. With a line (different colors of course) for each model. That would give a fantastic overview, if the models pretty much agree on how much wind we can except, or if there are big differences, which would mean that the forecast is unpredictable.

Jeff_H 03-24-2019 12:04 PM

While it is visually simple, it does not appear to provide as complete and detailed information as the better weather apps that are out there.

Jeff

Barquito 03-24-2019 12:20 PM

I couldn't find a wave forecast. Out of curiosity, how do wind prediction models take into account the effects of land?

capta 03-24-2019 02:11 PM

We'll be sailing between Canouan and Carriacou tomorrow, so we'll see how it works.

titustiger27 03-24-2019 03:32 PM

I won't be able to try this until a couple of feet of snow is gone