I've made a forecast web app - SailNet Community
Apps & Authors This forum is specifically designed for authors, designers, and members to showcase their wares. These must be sailing related!!!

5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 Old 4 Weeks Ago Thread Starter

Question I've made a forecast web app

Hi sailing community,

I've been working for 2 years on https://igetwind.com it's a wind-waves-tides forecast web app.

Basically you click on the map anywhere in the world and you get different weather models and tides. You can save up to 8 forecasts on your profile.

Give it a try and let me know if you like it. Any constructive comment is welcome.

Thanks and good wind!

Greg

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by laf1greg; 4 Weeks Ago at 09:12 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 Old 4 Weeks Ago

Re: I've made a forecast web app

I like it - good job.
It's fast, gives a great overview, and I really like that you save my settings and locations, without me having to create a profile/login.
Cookies or local storage I guess? (Didn't bother to check)
Good stuff.

What I would love, would be the ability to see a graph (linegraph) illustrating the wind-strength for all the models in the same view. With a line (different colors of course) for each model. That would give a fantastic overview, if the models pretty much agree on how much wind we can except, or if there are big differences, which would mean that the forecast is unpredictable.
post #3 of 25 Old 4 Weeks Ago
Administrator

While it is visually simple, it does not appear to provide as complete and detailed information as the better weather apps that are out there.

Jeff

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Curmudgeon at Large- and rhinestone in the rough, sailing my Farr 11.6 on the Chesapeake Bay

post #4 of 25 Old 4 Weeks Ago
Barquito