Catalina-22, O'day-22, or this curveball Starwind! - SailNet Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 08-10-2014 Thread Starter

Catalina-22, O'day-22, or this curveball Starwind!

Hi everyone. My virgin post...

Buying a used pocket cruiser for Lake Erie. Maily daysailing with the occasional camp out with my 5 and 7yo. Probably find myself in more open water to the islands (here in Ohio) twice a yr.

I was all set on a 22' but got caught up in keel hysteria and held off buying either due to overanalysis. Anyway, there's a 19' Starwind for sale that seems pretty roomy down below so that's in the mix now too.

Any input on how these boats would handle the open Lake as well as comfort is MOST appreciated. I'm totally new to pocket cruisers. My experience is racing small FJ's and crewing/cruising on bigger boats. Never even owned my very own yet.

BTW the O'day is a shoal keel and the Cat and Star are swing.
Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 08-11-2014
TQA
Bombay Explorer 44

Re: Catalina-22, O'day-22, or this curveball Starwind!

I was very happy with my Jaguar 22 which the UK clone of the Catalina 22. I had the swing keel varient with the pop top. It sailed pretty well and I lived on board a couple of summers cruising first the west coast of Scotland then Yugoslavia.

Big plus for the Cat is the active users groups and the availability of spare parts.
The Following User Says Thank You to TQA For This Useful Post:
Tubesteak (08-11-2014)
post #3 of 8 Old 08-11-2014