Buying my first boat - SailNet Community
 9Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 36 Old 01-02-2017 Thread Starter
Sail la vie

Buying my first boat

Whaz appppp. Im new to the whole idea of sailing and wanted to pick a few brains about buying a boat, living in one (short term/long term), and the truth about traveling the world. i would prefer experienced sailors but i am open to all ideas, being a newbie to all of this. i always dreamed of the ocean and living on or near it but never really saw it to be a possibility until i found Riley and Elayna on youtube Sailing La Vagabonde. they changed my whole aspect on life. but anyways I've been looking at boats for a few weeks now and found one that i really liked that was relatively cheap. i do understand that there will need to be repairs but not sure how much i am looking at. also as far as maintenance on a boat such as this one what would i be looking at. i am more than willing to learn how to take care of it and make repairs myself if that will save some change. would this be a good boat to start with or am i looking at a big money pit. I'm a pretty minimalist guy and don't care much about cool features so any info would help a ton. THANK YOUUUU!!!

... well apparently i can't post links until i have 10 or more posts, basically if you look up 1979 island trader ketch on sailboat listings dot com thats the boat i am looking at. heres a picture of it.
Attached Thumbnails
01030b85d832c7575f21a4b52c4712946472a39fb7.jpg  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 36 Old 01-02-2017
Master Mariner

Re: Buying my first boat

Not to be rude, but I've contributed answers to this question so many times I'm really quite tired of typing it over and over again. You might want to do a site search as this topic comes up almost weekly. There is already so much good information, from so many knowledgeable contributors, on here about this subject.
olson34 likes this.