Pearson Cored Decks & Teak Toe-Rails - SailNet Community
 4Likes
  • 1 Post By overthehorizon
  • 1 Post By boatpoker
  • 2 Post By roverhi

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 10-10-2019 Thread Starter

Pearson Cored Decks & Teak Toe-Rails

So, after introducing myself, and getting a ton of feedback/advice on boat options, I started looking at a few in earnest. I've been looking at Pearson 31-2, 33-2 and 36-2. For interior layout and berth count reasons, the 33 & 36 are most appealing.

In reading various threads, it is pretty clear the teak toe-rails, lovely though they are, are a weak spot/significant source of water intrusion in the cored decks. Any boat we look at will get a thorough survey, and I'd likely buy myself a moisture-meter to keep doing my own periodic inspection, but, having said that:

How hard, in general, is it to refit a new rub-strip and aluminum or stainless toe-rail on these? I have plenty of experience with epoxy, glass and putty servicing my catamaran hulls, and I'm not particularly daunted by these kinds of repairs. Being able to DIY this kind of thing makes all the difference between the boat being totaled or not.

The other boat I keep coming back to for our needs|desires is the Catalina 30 tall rig, but I've read a number of stories about moisture intrusion in those (cored) decks as well, and while their deck::hull joint strikes me as superior (and what I'm contemplating for a Pearson), this is, evidently, an issue for a lot of boats.

I'm thinking about getting a meter myself, and inspecting boats myself for moisture, before paying for a survey. Any boat that passed and was otherwise of interest for us, would get a survey, and then, if we purchased, be a candidate for remediation of this kind. I'd definitely be rebedding all the deck surface hardware regardless, just as part of preventative maintenance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 10-10-2019
al brazzi

Re: Pearson Cored Decks & Teak Toe-Rails