Around the Americas, help and advice - SailNet Community
 29Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 61 Old 1 Week Ago Thread Starter

Question Around the Americas, help and advice

Hey there everyone. I want to hurry up and get a few things out of the way before the meat of the post!
1. If this is deemed the wrong area to post this particular question, sorry and I will move it where needed.
2. This is my first post and I am completely green.

So here goes! I am a filmmaker and Executive Director of an NGO. I promise I'm not as pretentious as the tone of those 2 things combined. I am currently traveling along the entire US-Mexico border. I don't even think this project will end until Summer.

Upon completion, I have decided to move forward with purchasing a sailboat and starting a project I have been sitting on for about 7 years. I will travel around all of the Americas, pulling into ports to put cameras into the hands of the youth and teach them how to film their own documentaries. That will be coupled with my own filming from the journey on the boat.

I've been scouring craigslist back in my current home area of Virginia-South Carolina. I have found some really amazing deals that will most likely be gone by the time I am back and ready. I can't seem to convince anyone to uproot and do this project for the next 3+ years with me(maybe this site could even lead into that). I'll only have about 4 months to learn under 2 friends everything I can about sailing.

I've been looking at a pearson 35, but it just feels too small for what I need. I am looking for suggestions on pretty much everything. You are welcome to try and dissuade as well, but I'm keen on it. I need a space dedicated to editing and keeping a lot of film gear. If I can get 2 private berths as well, mint! Trying to keep the boat cost to under $20k.

Thanks for the read, look forward to the words,
Nate
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 61 Old 1 Week Ago

Dock
Re: Around the Americas, help and advice