Best boat for LI Sound - SailNet Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 06-16-2009 Thread Starter

Best boat for LI Sound

I am looking at buying a used boat and would like your opinions on the following.

I have lots of experience sailing daysailers. I want to move up to a larger boat. I know there will be a learning curve but I am willing to hire a captain to take lessons as I learn. There are 3 of us in our family, but the boat should be easily sailed by 2 people. Occasionally we might have another couple overnight. I would rather buy a slightly larger boat then have to trade up in a year or two.

We will be sailing on LI Sound almost exclusively. I am looking at shoal draft boats due to the shallowness of the waters around Norwalk. Most of the time we will be day sailing returning to home port at night. Occassionally we might sail to a different port for a weekend overnight stay. There is a small chance for an occasional longer trip to Block Island.

I am more interested in comfort vs. performance. But I don't want a slow boat either. We do not intend to race. I would like a well built boat and am willing to sacrifice comfort for quality.

My budget is $170K and I do not want anything older then 5 years.

I am looking at the following boats and would appreciate any advice as to advantages/disadvantages of each, which might be better for our needs, and suggestions on maybe other boats to look at.

2005 Beneteau 393 $170K
2006 Beneteau 373 $155K
2006 Hanse 370e $179K
2007 Jeanneau 36i $146K
2003 Jeanneau sun odyssey $135K
2005 Bavaria 37 cruiser $139K
2007 Bavaria 37 cruiser $170K (new)
2004 Catalina 387 $170K

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 06-16-2009

I daysail and race on a J24 as well as a 35' boat

The 35' boat is way to much work

In all sincerity i would charter one to get a better idea about the amount of time and effort it takes to sail one compared to a smaller boat

1970 Cal 29 Sea Fever