Recommendation for 16-20' Racer/Cruiser - SailNet Community
Boat Reviews This forum has all types of boat reviews. Take a look, Dream, Agree, Dissagree.... but enjoy.

5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 34 Old 03-04-2017 Thread Starter

Dock
I have been sailing since well before I could drive, owning several sunfish and Hobie Cat sailboats. I'm now in my last year of med school and I decided it was time to get back into sailing (school has a way of sucking up any lake days) but with something a little bit more grown up.

I purchased a ComPAC 16 thinking that having both the cockpit and a cabin would make me feel like I'm sailing on a 'real boat'. And don't get me wrong, I have thoroughly enjoyed it. However my experience closer to the water on the small boats and the thrill that comes with it isn't quite satiated on the ComPAC. I feel like it's a little sluggish and unresponsive. I also have found out that I don't care about having a cabin at all. In fact I'd rather not have one and have more room for friends on the boat. it takes a few boats to realize what you want out of them, so the ComPAC was a good stepping stone for me.

But now I want something that has some speed behind it. I'm used to the small boats and catamarans so heeling high up on one side is by no means an issue to me. I've lurked on this site for quite a while now and I thought I was going to like a Hunter 170 till I read how slow they are. Capri 16s seem closer to the fit but I'm just not sure. Flying Scots have also really caught my eye. So I need some advice from folks with experience.

Here's my priorities out of the boat I want:

1. Has to be trailerable. I don't have a slip and can't afford one. I have a decent sized V6 SUV so towing shouldn't be an issue. Just need to be able to get it rigged up and in the water quick enough to make it worth while (the ComPAC I can get in the water in 30 min).