New C&C 30 MKI owner - SailNet Community
 6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 12-23-2016 Thread Starter

New C&C 30 MKI owner

Hi Everyone,

First off, I'm very new to sailing. I took a sailing course last summer and fell in love with it. I have since bought a C&C 30 MKI, I'm tickled pink, looking forward to unwrapping it, it is stored away for winter. I plan to work on gaining some sailing experience and sail my boat from Maine to New Brunswick in June. I would like to gain some advice on safely making the boat ready, such as equipment and rigging the boat.
My list of upgrades is low, I think it may need expanding, so far I have;

Bottom paint
Paint Hull
Batteries
Paint Mast
Repair Mast step
Radar
Radar Reflector
Autopilot
Chartplotter
LED Mast light
Replace Thru Hulls

If anyone could chime in on appropriate equipment that is sutible for the size of boat (especially the electronics) that would allow the boat to be out for multi days, I would really appreciate it.
Thanks for any help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 12-23-2016

Re: New C&C 30 MKI owner

Congrats on the new boat! Sailing will change your life in the best way possible

As far as equipment goes, having an autopilot and all the electronic goodies is great but I really encourage you to practice sailing without them and become proficient. Use instruments to augment your sailing instead of telling you how to sail.

I sailed for 6 years on a boat with no electronics other than running lights. My new boat has all the goodies but I rarely need to use them because sailing without for so long gives you an intuitive feel for it. They could all go out and I would be able to sail back home just fine. That to me is the best piece of "equipment".

You are going to have a lot of fun and make some great memories with your boat. I wish you all the best!
seabeau likes this.
The Following User Says Thank You to blobaugh For This Useful Post:
tom135ca (12-23-2016)
post #3 of 18 Old 12-23-2016