Rudder Noise - SailNet Community
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By MarkofSeaLife
  • 1 Post By SeaStar58

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 04-16-2018 Thread Starter

Rudder Noise

Hi there,
I'm new to Sailnet and sailing in general.
We have a beautiful 1984 C&C 29 MKII.

Late last season I began getting a vibration in my rudder as well as a faint thumping noise during tacks and turns.

The boat is on the hard. The radius, cables, chain, sheaves, rudder post etc all look great from below. I've greased the rudder post.

Unfortunately, turning the rudder manually results in the same rough turn throughout the entire rudder arc in both directions. The thumping noise persists.

I'm thinking bearings of course but has anyone in this forum encountered these symptoms and can you please share your solutions?

Thanks
Steve T.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 04-16-2018
Master Mariner

Re: Rudder Noise

If the boat is on the hard, why not get a professional to take a look? It's pretty hard for us to imagine your problem w/o turning the rudder personally.

"Any idiot can make a boat go; it takes a sailor to stop one." Spike Africa aboard the schooner Wanderer in Sausalito, Ca. 1964.
“Believe me, my young friend, there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth doing as simply messing about in boats.” ― Kenneth Grahame, The Wind in the Willows

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

facebook.com/svskippingstone
The Following User Says Thank You to capta For This Useful Post:
82Vanner (04-17-2018)
post #3 of 9 Old 04-16-2018

Dock

Quote:
Originally Posted by 82Vanner View Post

I'm thinking bearings of course but has anyone in this forum encountered these symptoms and can you please share your solutions?

Thanks
Steve T.
Yes. Rudder bearings. It's not a big job. We, it wasn't for my beneteau.
RegisteredUser likes this.

Sea Life
Notes on a Circumnavigation: