Windlass Battery Circuit - SailNet Community
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By capta

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 3 Weeks Ago Thread Starter

Windlass Battery Circuit

Hello
I am new to the Catalina 30 and my wife and I just purchased a 1987 MKII. We love it. We also just stepped the mast. I have been going over the systems and making small repairs, etc. but have a question about the windlass circuit. I have what appears to be a factory installed windlass which is not working but l’m getting close to the root cause. My question is on the windlass battery arrangement which is not shown on my wiring diagram.

There are three batteries with one dedicated to the windlass. All are charging per my volt meter when hooked to shore power. My question is when the battery selector is on ALL does this include the windlass battery?

The battery selector has positions for Batt 1 or Batt 2 there is no position for the windlass battery.

Thank you.

HG
Attached Thumbnails
20C024E2-8856-47C2-9AFC-D95692657C85.jpeg  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 3 Weeks Ago

Re: Windlass Battery Circuit

Are two of the batteries wired in Parallel to one side of the switch and the other battery wired to the other side of the switch? This would allow for all three batteries to be charged from the all position.
post #3 of 9 Old 3 Weeks Ago Thread Starter

Thank you for the reply.

Yes I believe that is the case because when I put the battery selector to OFF all three batteries are still being charged. It appears the positive terminal for the windlass is on the same terminal as the positive batt 2. I was just wondering if running the windlass if this will also deplete my starting battery.

Typically is a dedicated windlass battery isolated from the other system/starting batteries?
Attached Thumbnails
E4273661-3D2E-4925-B649-0D6E85E17487.jpeg   9CC2FC6B-C0C2-4593-97E4-177445541235.jpeg   CAC55E0F-020E-4835-95A1-C4D6F544D41A.jpeg   E15E0685-82B0-4B66-A598-8CF8284439BF.jpeg