Cambridge to Crisfield - SailNet Community
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 02-08-2017 Thread Starter

Cambridge to Crisfield

Not familiar with this stretch of water, what is there to know?

It looks like 70 miles, what Anchorage would be ideal along the way? I'm unfamiliar with the water rounding around the blackwater refuge

It looks like this part of the bay is skinny, and likely the shipping is busy?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 02-08-2017
Chastened

Send a message via Yahoo to Ajax_MD
Re: Cambridge to Crisfield

It sounds like you're planning to sail up Tangier Sound and exit via Hooper Island Strait?
I'm going to guess (and hope) that your boat is of shallow draft.

I've visited the area last year but I'm not an expert. There's a few possible routes-

Sail over to the Big Thoroughfare and cut through Smith Island to exit into the bay.
Sail north up Tangier Sound and exit via Hooper's Strait
Sail south and exit into the bay via Tangier Island.

As far as bail-out points, there really aren't any if you take the Tangier Sound route until you get to Solomon's.
If you exit via Smith Island, you could sail over to Point Lookout if you needed an escape, then Solomon's further north.

You can hide in the Little Choptank, but it requires that you sail damn near to Sharp's Island Light and then south into the Little Choptank. There's a red nun "2" that is the safest place to turn, but depending on the time of year, it will be lousy with crab pots because the whole area is shallow. I used to use that area as a place to avoid foul current during the Eastport to Solomon's race. The advice I was given was "Tack on the second bump." I drew 5 feet with that boat.

That whole area is wild and beautiful and requires a little more attention to your charts.

When are you going, and what are you sailing?

Alacrity, 1981 Tartan 33 #168
post #3 of 11 Old 02-08-2017 Thread Starter