Plex server - Page 4 - SailNet Community
 11Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #31 of 42 Old 10-03-2018 Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
snokid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Troy, MI USA
Posts: 260
Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 3
 
Re: Plex server

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caribbeachbum View Post

I added some other stuff. For example, I added a web service and have mirrored Wikipedia on the NAS, so I can look stuff up when no internet is available. I've been considering mirroring other web sites, but I think most might prefer that I do not. Noonsite came to mind ...

Basically, the NAS will my boat cloud server. A good NAS will do a lot while consuming little power and taking up very little space.

Wow that's a great idea will be doing that...
snokid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 42 Old 10-03-2018 Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
snokid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Troy, MI USA
Posts: 260
Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 3
 
Re: Plex server

Capta yes you are correct any distraction to your job on watch isn't ideal. I'm sorry I shouldn't of asked this question in that way.
I do feel however if I have a tablet running a movie or music (no headphones) isn't much of a hazard to navigation. I'm not saying one should stare at the screen, but if you look up and take note every 5 mins or so I don't see the big problem.
enuff said on that topic.
Bob
snokid is offline  
post #33 of 42 Old 10-03-2018 Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
snokid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Troy, MI USA
Posts: 260
Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 3
 
Re: Plex server

OK now that those comments are taken care of....

I installed a NAS with plex on it. It's working just like I wanted it to.

For others that want to do this, couple of things I have figured out mostly the hard way!!!

Get the NAS/PLEX up and running at home first. You just don't buy a NAS and plop hard drives in it and have a plex server.

I was at the boat when I got this running very limited internet.

So if you are like me you have a laptop on board and you get wireless internet from a marina. That's all great and good, but how does the NAS get the internet to install the Plex software? How does your laptop talk to the nas?

so a least you are going to need the NAS and a router, now the NAS is wireless, part of the problem solved, you can now log into the NAS and set it up, but you can't install plex yet...

I don't know if this works with all laptops but here's what worked for me.
connect the laptop to the marina wifi, then connect the laptop to the router's internet in port (cat 5 cable) then in network settings I was able to bridge the connections... That gave the NAS the internet it needed to install plex.

now you can install plex on your devices.

So how I have this now(well as a couple of weeks ago, I'm off the boat for a few months now) I have a wifi router hooked to the NAS and if I want to watch something off it I just switch my wifi connection on my laptop to that router start up plex and presto I can watch.

What's not so documented is you have to pay for plex premium if you want to watch on your phone, tablet. Not at problem just saying it because I didn't know.

I did a qnap nas, I don't think brand so much matters from what I can tell.
ripping dvd's is time consuming and a whole new learning curve.
Bob
snokid is offline  
 
post #34 of 42 Old 10-03-2018
Senior Member
 
MacBlaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 268
Thanks: 4
Thanked 19 Times in 17 Posts
Rep Power: 4
 
Re: Plex server

So you've got to power what?
A NAS?
A laptop?
A router?
A tv/monitor?

Is everything running off 120 or have you converted some to 12v?

Gaudeamus igitur iuvenes dum sumus...
before it's too late
MacBlaze is online now  
post #35 of 42 Old 10-03-2018 Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
snokid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Troy, MI USA
Posts: 260
Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 3
 
Re: Plex server

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacBlaze View Post
So you've got to power what?
A NAS?
A laptop?
A router?
A tv/monitor?

Is everything running off 120 or have you converted some to 12v?
As we are getting ready to sail away into the sunset
I only have so much time to spend upgrading the boat, right now yes everything is powered by 120v ac, but we only turn on the inverter when we are going to use those items.
I don't see any reason all of those items can't be run off 12v thou.


Bob
snokid is offline  
post #36 of 42 Old 10-04-2018
Senior Member
 
Caribbeachbum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 132
Thanks: 3
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 6
 
Re: Plex server

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacBlaze View Post
So you've got to power what?
A NAS?
A laptop?
A router?
A tv/monitor?

Is everything running off 120 or have you converted some to 12v?
All that (and more) runs on the inverter. Nothing is powered up, though, except when it's in use.
Caribbeachbum is offline  
post #37 of 42 Old 10-04-2018
Senior Member
 
Caribbeachbum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 132
Thanks: 3
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 6
 
Re: Plex server

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caribbeachbum View Post
Buy a Synology NAS box. Install the hard drives and connect it to your network (Ethernet or WiFi). No internet is required here, but it's nice to have. Enable Plex for video, iTunes server for audio. There are other cool toys as well. Copy your digital media to the NAS box. Make sure your media player is connected to the network. It's really, really simple. I have just been setting up a 12TB NAS for our new boat just for this purpose. iDevices will see the iTunes server; devices with a Plex client (Apple TV works) will see the Plex server. Enjoy your media.

I added some other stuff. For example, I added a web service and have mirrored Wikipedia on the NAS, so I can look stuff up when no internet is available. I've been considering mirroring other web sites, but I think most might prefer that I do not. Noonsite came to mind ...

Basically, the NAS will my boat cloud server. A good NAS will do a lot while consuming little power and taking up very little space.

I should I should update this ... Plex has a real taste for an internet connection. While we do have a network and WiFi, there is often no internet. So I dumped Plex. We use the Synology DSVideo and DSAudio apps instead. They are not as feature-rich, but they happily chug along on the local network without internet access. They are a bit speedier as well.
Caribbeachbum is offline  
post #38 of 42 Old 10-05-2018
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 547
Thanks: 9
Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts
Rep Power: 6
 
Re: Plex server

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caribbeachbum View Post
I should I should update this ... Plex has a real taste for an internet connection. While we do have a network and WiFi, there is often no internet. So I dumped Plex. We use the Synology DSVideo and DSAudio apps instead. They are not as feature-rich, but they happily chug along on the local network without internet access. They are a bit speedier as well.
That's odd. Mine works just fine, net or no net.
IStream is offline  
post #39 of 42 Old 10-06-2018
Senior Member
 
SanDiegoChip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Puerto Vallarta Mexico
Posts: 436
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 13
 
Re: Plex server

Hi,
At the risk of sounding naive, can you use a router and a WiFi tv and a laptop with WiFi but no carrier?
We like Plex because it is easy to say find a comedy to watch on our USB drive because it catalogs all the content. However we rarely have a WiFi signal good enough to stream especially at anchor.
Thanks,
Chip
s\v Elegant'sea Blog
SanDiegoChip is offline  
post #40 of 42 Old 10-06-2018
Senior Member
 
Caribbeachbum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 132
Thanks: 3
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 6
 
Re: Plex server

Quote:
Originally Posted by IStream View Post
That's odd. Mine works just fine, net or no net.
Others have told me this as well. I don't doubt you. Once you have it all set up and configured, it's probably OK with no internet. But you will never get it up and running without an internet connection. Since it started out so net-greedy, I assumed it would continue that behavior.
Caribbeachbum is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

By choosing to post the reply above you agree to the rules you agreed to when joining Sailnet.
Click Here to view those rules.

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the SailNet Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Please note: After entering 3 characters a list of Usernames already in use will appear and the list will disappear once a valid Username is entered.


User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
polishing plex scosch Gear & Maintenance 23 03-07-2010 02:18 PM
Server is SLOW!!! CharlieCobra General Discussion (sailing related) 17 05-23-2008 10:42 AM
West Marine.. to server or not to serve sailboy21 General Discussion (sailing related) 3 12-14-2007 10:26 AM
Slow SailNet server? TrueBlue Announcements and Suggestions Box 3 05-16-2006 06:25 PM
Server down? skipgundlach General Discussion (sailing related) 0 03-22-2006 05:21 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome