Thinking about living abroad - SailNet Community
 16Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 03-15-2019 Thread Starter

Smile Thinking about living abroad

Hello everyone my name is Bradley, I'm 17 and thinking about starting to live aboard I want to be able to travel the world but don't know what to get for a sailboat. I will be sailing by myself and a little pup. I have no sailing experience, but my grandfather lived on a sailboat off and on for most of his life and will teach me. I want to to have a long-keel and it has to be a blue water sailboat. I am thinking I want something between 25-38 feet but open to other opinion. I am looking at a 1994 Tradewind 35.
Attached Thumbnails
Screenshot 2019-03-15 at 9.49.13 PM.png  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 Old 03-15-2019

Dock
Re: Thinking about living abroad

I'm sure the naysayers will chime in. Go for it! And, post pictures of the pup!

My 2 cents is to buy a smallish coastal cruiser for more local adventures and learning. What you want in a boat will likely change the more you sail, so sail lots, and don't spend too much on the first boat (and repairs, upgrades, etc)
jephotog, boatpoker and mbianka like this.
post #3 of 22 Old 03-16-2019

Dock

Abroad?
Over here? Or over there?
Some places are affordable, others are less so.

Sea Life
Notes on a Circumnavigation:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

People can say they want freedom, but offer them the keys to what chains them, a map to where they want to go,
And they'll turn it down for the cell they know

post #4 of 22 Old 03-16-2019

Try trains and buses first.
jephotog likes this.
post #5 of 22 Old 03-16-2019