What did you do with your property before you left for the horizon? - SailNet Community
 86Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 90 Old 4 Weeks Ago Thread Starter

What did you do with your property before you left for the horizon?

I'm dangerously close right now to just selling off all my things and loading the family (my wife and a 3yr old) onto our Mirage 33 and heading south for the Erie Canal, ICW, then the Islands. That's a whole ball of wax on it's own, and I need some tips for the big pieces of this puzzle...

So what did everyone do with their property when they left? How did it work out? Why did you do it that way?

I'm in a weird position. I know sailing (especially forums) has alot of dreamers, maybe I'm one, who knows. I have a successful career in the government as a manager. I have extensive experience in emergency response and management as well, so I have many transferable skills that should either get my job back or at least a decent job should this all fail. My wife is a nurse and I think it goes without saying she can work almost anywhere, especially in Canada, should this fail. My daughter is only 3 so she wouldn't be missing school yet.

We own a beautiful home on a spring fed lake. We paid 135k for it, and I expect with the reno's and current market we could get 250k for it now. We owe 90k, which in block numbers to keep it simple would net us 160k in the pocket if we sold and it worked out well. So if we did sell we would have a decent cruising kitty (not to mention selling the rest of our belongings would probably add 30-50k to the number). However, it would mean we would have nowhere to "return" to if this failed a week after we left.