SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Fresh Water System Leak - Universal M2-12

1K views 4 replies 3 participants last post by  Rockter 
#1 ·
I have a 1989 Universal M2-12 that over heated. When I started researching the cause I found the Fresh Water Manifold was empty. I refilled it and ran the engine without it overheating; however, the next time I checked the water level it was low again. I can't determine where the water is leaking. No water found in the bilge. No obvious leaks on the Manifold, hoses, block or Heat Exchanger. No water in the Oil. Is it possible the Heat Exchanger is leaking internally and the water is exiting out the Raw Water discharge? If so how could I determine this? I'm not a mechanic and only know what I've read in the owner's manual and online. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks...... First time user of SailNet!

#2 · (Edited)
skipper...
Try to rig up a wee long line that you can connect to the primary (jacket) coolant, tie the line up high in the engine room or even up on to deck, tie it off firmly and fill the line to the brim to give it some measure of pressure head. Now with motor off, watch the fluid level. Does it drop over time?
Do you have a wee picture of your motor you could post? I think we could figure out where to connect the makeshift hose.

#4 ·