"Not an electrician" needs wiring critique. - SailNet Community
 4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 46 Old 11-22-2016 Thread Starter

"Not an electrician" needs wiring critique.

So...I'm a newbie, but enthusiastic never-the-less. I've got a new to me, 78' Catalina 27 with wiring so bad I almost cried when I pulled the DC panel out. Calling it a fire hazard doesn't even come close to what's in the boat.

I couldn't even count the badly soldered wires hanging off the panel bus bars. Several attempts were made to bypass the fused circuit. Ugh....

A look at the battery bank showed a starter battery and a house battery. The house battery had about 8 home runs to the positive terminal. Two of the wires had broken off their badly crimped ring terminals and were just hanging out. A short just waiting to happen.

Clearly a complete rewiring was in order.

If any of your "smarter than me" people would be kind enough to have a look at my fresh off the press wiring diagram, I'd appreciate it.

Thanks,

Mike

http://i.imgur.com/1LlJRwm.jpg
Attached Thumbnails
Cat 27 wiring diagram 1.jpg  

Last edited by smitty225; 11-22-2016 at 02:35 PM. Reason: added link to hosted image.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 46 Old 11-22-2016
Learning the HARD way...

Re: "Not an electrician" needs wiring critique.

I can't see your diagram. I STRONGLY suggest posting it at higher res to a picture hosting service of your choice.

That said, here is an older diagram of the primary electrical circuit diagram on my '87 O'day 35. You may find it helpful/inspirational/laughable.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

USCG Licensed OUPV Captain, US/Sailing BKB and ASA 101/103/104/105/106/114/118 Instructor - Also ABYC certified in Marine Electrical Systems,

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 46 Old 11-22-2016 Thread Starter