Using a capacitor to reduce voltage fluctuations cause LED strip to flicker - SailNet Community
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 1 Week Ago Thread Starter

Using a capacitor to reduce voltage fluctuations cause LED strip to flicker

I have installed some awesome LED strips inside but they get random dimming fluctuations due to voltage spikes or drops from my other accessories (freezer cycling would be one I'm sure).

I am not a newbie to electrical but have never added in a capacitor where it never was before. What is the best way to wire one in to act as filter to reduce the flickers? In series with the positive feed to the LED strips?

Some youtube videos, nothing fancy

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 1 Week Ago

Re: Using a capacitor to reduce voltage fluctuations cause LED strip to flicker

Think of a capacitor as a bucket, it holds electricity. It would have to be a very large cap to filter out fluctuations. Also I doubt you can see voltage spikes. Try this, without any devices on, engine, refrig, VHF, blah blah, see if there are any fluctuations in light output. An effective filter would be an inductor in series with a cap across the power leads. It is called a pi filter and here is a picture of one https://www.google.com/search?q=pi+f...Af4Fxo2t--tzfM The other thing you might try is a small switching power supply that would power the LEDs. Something like this might work https://www.ebay.com/itm/DC-DC-8-60V...YAAOSwDoNdw40J

Nor'sea 27
Don't re-accommodate me, Bro
And the trees are all keep equal by hatchet, axe and saw...RUSH
I invented a new word today, plagiarism.
post #3 of 16 Old 1 Week Ago Thread Starter

Tnx for the ideas. The fluctuations may be more evident because it's on a dimmer controller dimming by switching on an off at a specific Hz rate I'm sure.