SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Volvo penta md6b

5K views 9 replies 5 participants last post by  Rockter 
#1 ·
Hi guys I'm new to this forum and to sailing, I have a seamaster 23 which I have had for about a year and recently bought a md6b which im hoping to put in,
i have a couple of questions if anyone could possibly help me out...
1. I dnt have a gearbox for it at the moment as I'm struggling to find one as you can imagine but is there an alternative to a volvo penta I could use?
2. I have a small oil leak coming from the hollow threaded shaft? I have a bolt in there at the moment but has any1 any idea why it is a hollow and threaded shaft at the end?
Any help on this would be much appreciated thanks guys John

#2 ·
ZF/Hurth gears are often matched up with Volvos. Try them.

You'll either need to provide a better description of the threaded shaft or post a picture.

Is this the OEM engine that belongs in the boat or are you modifying. The later could be an extreme project. It could cost more than the boat is worth, after buying a gear and all the proper mating hardware, shaft, prop, etc. The original prop pitch, shaft length, gear reduction ratio, etc, could be matched differently.

#3 ·
I have an MD7. Just looking at pics and rough specs it seems to be a 2cylinder 10hp motor. It looks a lot like the MD7.

The MD7 is, I believe, a much more popular motor. Do some research and see if you can find out if they use the same transmission. That might open your chances of finding one. The MD7A is 13hp and md7b is 17hp. They are essentially the same engine with different piston bores or sow such thing. I think they both used the same transmission.

I’m sorry but I do need to ask what prompted you to look to installing that particular engine? Hopefully you got it for free or next to.