Volvo penta md6b - SailNet Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 04-15-2020 Thread Starter

Volvo penta md6b

Hi guys I'm new to this forum and to sailing, I have a seamaster 23 which I have had for about a year and recently bought a md6b which im hoping to put in,
i have a couple of questions if anyone could possibly help me out...
1. I dnt have a gearbox for it at the moment as I'm struggling to find one as you can imagine but is there an alternative to a volvo penta I could use?
2. I have a small oil leak coming from the hollow threaded shaft? I have a bolt in there at the moment but has any1 any idea why it is a hollow and threaded shaft at the end?
Any help on this would be much appreciated thanks guys John
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 04-16-2020

Re: Volvo penta md6b

ZF/Hurth gears are often matched up with Volvos. Try them.

You'll either need to provide a better description of the threaded shaft or post a picture.

Is this the OEM engine that belongs in the boat or are you modifying. The later could be an extreme project. It could cost more than the boat is worth, after buying a gear and all the proper mating hardware, shaft, prop, etc. The original prop pitch, shaft length, gear reduction ratio, etc, could be matched differently.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Jeanneau 54DS

In the harsh marine environment, something is always in need of repair. Margaritas fix everything.
post #3 of 6 Old 04-16-2020

I have an MD7. Just looking at pics and rough specs it seems to be a 2cylinder 10hp motor. It looks a lot like the MD7.