woodworking on boats - SailNet Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 05-30-2006 Thread Starter

woodworking on boats

I am an amateur woodworker who is thinking of buying a boat that can use quite a bit of updating on the inside.

I am wondering what special considerations (since there are always special considerations) are involved in woodworking at sea. Specifically, what types of wood, plywood, glues, finishes, etc are used on sailboats. I

I know this is a general question but since I am just starting this thought process I don't even know what specific questions to ask.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 05-30-2006 Thread Starter

narrowing it a bit

I just reread my post and wanted to narrow it down a bit. I'm more interested in fit and finish type stuff than in actual wooden boatbuilding.

Hope this helps.....
post #3 of 7 Old 05-30-2006

wood working

Wood working Amateur
Words of wisdom from a cabinetmaker with a boat,Nothing is plumb,or level.Measure at least twice before you cut "ANYTHING".Look at lots of new and old boats for ideas.Don't box yourself in with the teak thing.I have seen renovated boats in ash,cherry,maple,and mahogany,and even Plastic Laminate.Remember Plan ahead,it will take at least 30 percent more money and time then you thought it would.Good Luck

post #4 of 7 Old 05-31-2006 Thread Starter

nothing is plumb or level............

he he...thanks Ken. I will definately heed your advice. I envision a lot of 'fit finessing' in my future :-P.
post #5 of 7 Old 05-31-2006

tips

I am doing what you are about to do. Here are a few "for what its worth" thoughts and experiences.