Replacing both Fuel filters - Yanmar 1GM10 - SailNet Community
 5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 03-11-2016 Thread Starter

Replacing both Fuel filters - Yanmar 1GM10

I've recently purchased an old Westerly Nomad, and although engine has been working fine, I only ran it for about 10 hrs end of last year and I want to change both Primary and secondary fuel filters so that I know they have both been done.

Which one should I change first ?

I have never done this before, but think I understand the basics from watching youtube video's.

But my thinking is when I replace them I will possibly be disturbing sediment on the existing filters that might have built up.

Would it be best to replace the primary filter first, although this might be the dirtiest, and more chance to disturb sediment, it would be caught by the 2ndary.

get the engine started and run for 5-10 mins.

Then replace the 2ndary -> prime and restart.

Or would it be better to reverse the procedure, under the assumption that the 2ndary is the cleanest and least likely to disturb build up, then move onto the primary?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 03-11-2016

Re: Replacing both Fuel filters - Yanmar 1GM10

If you have two filters then the first one is an aftermarket one. many only use the stock Yanmar engine filter. with an after market filter in place the second filter is really not doing much at all. with the flow of a 1GM10 doubt you will even have anything in the second filter. I have stock and after market Racor on my 1GM10 and change both at the same time never have had a problem.
Rowman likes this.

"FULL TILT II" 2011 BENETEAU FIRST 30
"GOLD RUSH" PRINDLE 16
post #3 of 12 Old 03-11-2016
Banned