Haul out woes - SailNet Community
 10Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 34 Old 11-04-2016 Thread Starter

Haul out woes

Hi all,

I hauled my 1982 CS 33 last week to be greeted by this crack in the rudder. So, the questions come flooding in:

I'm told that CS rudders are hollow. I intend to drill a small hole at the bottom of the rudder tomorrow to test for myself and drain completely. If it is hollow I'm thinking - clean up the crack and glue and clamp it back together. Then fair - seal and repaint. I am worried that the rudder stock is corroded though. But I admit I'm new to this. I'm sure this is not a new failure - I'm sure someone out there has seen this and dealt with it in the past... Any thoughts as to further investigations or remediation?

Maybe the smartest thing to do is just replace or rebuild.
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_0032.JPG  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 34 Old 11-04-2016

Re: Haul out woes

I doubt that trying to glue it back together would work. You'll need to grind down to glass and laminate over the crack with epoxy resin and Biax cloth and then fair as necessary. You won't be able to check the rudder shaft and armature without cutting large sections out and digging out foam or any filler.
The Following User Says Thank You to roverhi For This Useful Post:
dailymirror (11-04-2016)
post #3 of 34 Old 11-04-2016
Dirt Free

The CS33 was certainly built with a hollow rudder and should be an easy fix if repaired as Roverhi suggested however, I have surveyed hundreds of CS boats and found quite a few that someone (fool) thought they would inject with expanding foam .... this creates a more difficult problem to deal with.

Although it is possible to have a corroded rudder stock it is unlikely in fresh water and hauled out for six months a year unless you also a have stray current issue.

The hysterical laughter you hear as you drive a way in your"new" boat ..... is the seller.