C&C traveler rebuild/replace - SailNet Community
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By olson34

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 10-23-2017 Thread Starter

C&C traveler rebuild/replace

I am new to sailing and racing has caused our traveler to fail only after 5-6 races.
It's a 1980 C&C 34 original equipment and the bushings in the traveler have gotten so sloppy that I need to either rebuild or replace.
Rebuilding would be my choice, replace the bushings with sealed bearings.
The bushing posts do seem pretty primitive and make me question if replacing with real bearings is even possible.

Any and all advice is welcome.
Dwight CM
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 10-23-2017

Re: C&C traveler rebuild/replace

Once you have your boat's measurements in hand for a replacement, check with Garhauer.
Good people and their prices are very fair.
Faster likes this.

1988 Olson 34, by Ericson Yachts.
Sail # 28400
Betamarine 25 (new 2018)
RCYC, Portland, Oregon
The Following User Says Thank You to olson34 For This Useful Post:
Aircraft (10-23-2017)
post #3 of 10 Old 10-23-2017

Yes to the above..

In the meantime you need to identify the traveler brand and size.. C&C didn't make them themselves, I don't think. And after 37 years someone may have already changed it out.

Garhauer makes pretty good, if not svelte, gear, but it's hard to argue with Harken's smooth operation. It comes at a price....

btw.. the technical website page is for forum issues.. I've moved your threads to the more appropriate 'gear and maintenance' section

Ron

1984 Fast/Nicholson 345 "FastForward"

".. there is much you could do at sea with common sense.. and very little you could do without it.."
Capt G E Ericson (from "The Cruel Sea" by Nicholas Monsarrat)

Last edited by Faster; 10-23-2017 at 09:24 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Faster For This Useful Post:
Aircraft (10-23-2017)

post #4 of 10 Old 10-23-2017