Benataeu grid construction - SailNet Community
 18Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 40 Old 02-20-2019 Thread Starter

Benataeu grid construction

Hey guys, I'm looking for some buyer advice. I've found a 1980's Benataeu 37' sailboat that I really liked. After looking under every single floorboard and spending hours studying the hull I did find some signs of concern in the bilge. Some cracks around the edges. Not everywhere, but on a couple spots port side. Maybe superficial... I'm not an expert.

I already had a survey and haul-out scheduled... so I asked the surveyor to come early just to look at what I found in the bilge. Told him not to worry about anything else.. just please don't tell me it's a problem with a grid...

He came later that day and through sounding what he found was hull-grid separation. I cancelled the haul-out and survey.. informed the seller of the news... and I took a step back... but I'm still thinking about that Benataeu. This is the part where everyone here says.. RUN. DON't LOOK BACK. JUST RUN.

Is anyone here directly familiar with the 1980's Benataeus? Like the First 35, 11.5's, and 10.5's... What are the chances the grid is intact and the damage is superficial? Does it make sense to hire another surveyor and get a second opinion?

Attached are the images from the bilge where the surveyor chalked an X where he found separation/delamination through sounding while docked at the marina.
Attached Thumbnails
Screenshot_20190207-161339_Messages.jpg   Screenshot_20190207-161334_Messages.jpg   Screenshot_20190207-161342_Messages.jpg   Screenshot_20190207-161406_Messages.jpg   Screenshot_20190207-161345_Messages.jpg  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 40 Old 02-20-2019 Thread Starter

Re: Benataeu grid construction

A few more photos from the survey.
Attached Thumbnails
Screenshot_20190207-161348_Messages.jpg   Screenshot_20190207-161352_Messages.jpg   Screenshot_20190207-161357_Messages.jpg