Lewmar 40ST Wavegrip - put together wrong? - SailNet Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 04-11-2011 Thread Starter

Lewmar 40ST Wavegrip - put together wrong?

OK, I'm working on the winches and I'm stumped on the 40's. This is my first time doing them on this boat. Whoever did them the last time was a hack.They are loaded with grease like you would a wheel bearing (including the pawls). The spacer that should be between the two sets of roller bearings according to the schematic I have is MIA on both winches. (http://www.pyacht.com/graphics/Lew_WG_40st.gif item #19).

I have 2 issues.
1. I can't figure out how to remove the set of gears that the spindle sits in. The schematic shows them already removed. This is a 2 part deal and the smaller gear is on the bottom with the larger one on top. The cutout in the side of the spindle sleeve is big enough if the larger one was on bottom but not when it's on top. Did some one get these in backwards before or am I just missing something. I don't think there is enough clearance to seperate the two while they are inside the case/sleeve.

2. The spindle on the port side winch will not pull out. It's as if the pawls are locked in the expanded state. I can turn the gear and spindle so the pawls must be moving. Kinda confused on this one.

Thanks in advance
Brian
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 04-11-2011

Go to the Lewmar site and click on the ocean st winches, there is a video telling how to take the winches down for service. Hope it helps you, it did me.
post #3 of 8 Old 04-11-2011 Thread Starter

Alas these are not Oceanwave winches and don't really have much in common with them. One thing that doesn't impress me about Lewmar is their lack of any support for earlier models.

post #4 of 8 Old 04-12-2011
STARBOARD!!