How Tight For Rigging? Stay Extenders? Main Halyard Replacement? - SailNet Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 04-10-2014 Thread Starter

How Tight For Rigging? Stay Extenders? Main Halyard Replacement?

Hey guys! I'm in the process of replacing my mast on my 1975 Venture 23. I'm replacing it with a hobie 18 mast, I'm new to sailing and have two general questions.

1. I've got the shrouds attached and fore stay, but don't know how much I should tighten them down. For instance the fore stay has a sort of tensioner on it, just don't know how tight to make it.

2. I've attached the aft stay a few inches above where it previously was. Therefore the stay is just a bit too short. Are there any local remedies to this situation (ie home depot or lowes) or do I need to order a stay extender online?

3. The main halyard line is too thick to go through the pulley at the hobie masthead. What sort of replacement rope am I looking for? I'm just learning to sail, not racing or anything. Can I source a rope from a hardware store?

4. The previous owner sold me the boat with a "1 person mast raising system" he built. It looks like a 5' long board with a hand winch and 4 pulleys running back and forth. Could anyone explain how I use this?

Thanks for all the advice!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 04-10-2014
I don't discuss my member

Re: How Tight For Rigging? Stay Extenders? Main Halyard Replacement?

1. Start with snug, then go up 2-3 full turns. It's better to be a little tight than too loose. But they should not be bar tight.

2. Do you have a pic? Does it still connect into the bulk head or reinforced section of the boat?

3. How big is your current main halyard? send me an email at [email protected]

4. You'll need to post a drawing or photo of the setup for an accurate description of how to use it.

Merit 25 # 764 "Audrey"
post #3 of 6 Old 04-10-2014