2 sets of oarlocks on a Porta bote? - SailNet Community
 6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 02-06-2016 Thread Starter
One of THOSE!

2 sets of oarlocks on a Porta bote?

I've been internet-eyeing Porta Botes for a couple years, thinking of getting one and selling the West Marine 3.5m RIB that came with the boat. Corresponded with some owners. Looked at Youtube videos etc. But never saw one in person until this week. I guess there aren't any in the Turks and Caicos Islands. But A cruiser came into the marina with a 10 ft. Porta Bote as a dink and today he showed us how to set it up. In fact, my wife and I set it up and it took us maybe 20 minutes the first time. I could see it taking 5 minutes with some practice. I went out rowing in it, and was pretty impressed. We're planning to take it out again with a 6 hp Tohatsu on it later today.

My question is whether or not any of you have ever seen a 14 ft. Porta Bote with two sets of oarlocks in it? We're thinking that might be an interesting setup for two people who want to row.

Expat Life in the Devil's Triangle:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 02-06-2016

Re: 2 sets of oarlocks on a Porta bote?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Gringos View Post