Dyneema Lifeline Splicing - SailNet Community
 4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 02-22-2016 Thread Starter
That Drunk Guy

Dyneema Lifeline Splicing

I am replacing my lifelines with the New England Rope STS-WR2 dyneema but am having a hell of a time splicing eyes into it. Can anyone give some tips on accomplishing this? The cover is so tightly woven that it is impossible to run a fid down into it to bury anything other than the existing core. It certainly wont splice like normal double braid....I'm at a loss.

Hallberg Rassy - Monsun 31
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 02-22-2016

Re: Dyneema Lifeline Splicing

Are you compressing it together to widen the diameter? Is the fid too big?

I have a question for you too. Once you get an eye on one side of the line, how do you do the other end? At one point, it would require you to pull the opposite end, that aleady has an eye, back through. (maybe there are other ways to splice dyneema, I'm no splicing expert)

I've seen all sorted of knotted ends on synthetic lifelines, but don't love that look. If you could splice both ends, that would be nice.
Tenoch likes this.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Jeanneau 54DS

In the harsh marine environment, something is always in need of repair. Margaritas fix everything.
post #3 of 13 Old 02-22-2016

I love to splice all of my lines but doing Dyneema double-braid is always a chore and particularly difficult when the outer braid is tight. I find that my rubber mallet helps a lot, and will also resort to tapering the inner and outer cores more than the recommended amount (the lengths remain the same, I just "thin" more strands). When I did my lifelines with Dyneema on my last boat, I used single-braid and classic lashings which I would occasionally tighten as the Dyneema did it's slow creep.