Did my first race yesterday - SailNet Community
 7Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 03-13-2016 Thread Starter
Fau
Possibly improving

Did my first race yesterday

I'm relatively new to sailing. I took by first lessons 3-4 years ago on a flying scot and was hooked. I bought a 27' old, beater sailboat and practiced on it pretty regularly. This past summer, we bought a much nicer, new boat. I raced it for the first time yesterday. I was worried about the start, the tactics and missing a mark or doing something else that might ruin the day but everything went really well. It was a clean race in fairly tough conditions and I finished with no penalties or mishaps. I wasn't worried about where I finished so that really isn't part of my evaluation of the day. It was a 12 mile race on a technical course under fairly rough conditions and I finished. I've been feeling good about it all day today so I thought I'd post. There was no trophy for placing but I have a t-shirt from the day that I'll wear with some degree of pride.
jephotog, BarryL, Donna_F and 4 others like this.

Do or do not... There is no try.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 03-13-2016

Re: Did my first race yesterday

Oh oh... You're hooked! Good job! I DSQ'd my first race. (Didn't know the rules.) It's still a thrill after 40 years.
post #3 of 12 Old 03-13-2016

Good on you! A lot of people say they finish "DFL" for there first race . . .

post #4 of 12 Old 03-13-2016

Good for you! That kind of low stress racing ( sounds like a fairly casual fleet?) will teach you a lot, and you'll get to know a lot of good, like-minded people!

Ron

1984 Fast/Nicholson 345 "FastForward"

".. there is much you could do at sea with common sense.. and very little you could do without it.."
Capt G E Ericson (from "The Cruel Sea" by Nicholas Monsarrat)
post #5 of 12 Old 03-13-2016
al brazzi

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikel1 View Post