SailNet Community

SailNet Community (https://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (https://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   when to get out of sailing? (https://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/256850-when-get-out-sailing.html)

roky 06-19-2016 07:12 AM

when to get out of sailing?

perhaps a stupid question, but its been long on my mind -- my boat costs me $1000/year, for storage, i have a free mooring, and i do all my own maintenance -- i know thats a bargain by most standards, but not sure for me -- i'm 68, fixed income of 45k, no debt, 2 modest homes, good health, and i enjoy my time on my classic pearson triton -- but due to a very full, enjoyable, life on shore, as a musician, i only get out about 10 days per season, which i calculate at $100/day -- i'm guilty of being cheap, its inherited i guess, but i have trouble justifying that expense, when i think of other things i could spend that $ on -- ???

bob

Minnewaska 06-19-2016 07:41 AM

Re: when to get out of sailing?

There is a difference between being cheap and not being able to responsibly afford something. Not enough info to help you with the judgement. If the money would just divert to another pleasure, is sailing important enough to you? 10 days is probably average by the looks of every marina I've ever been in. Although, we've admittedly been out for more than 10 days already this season.

I have my daughter aboard for Fathers Day. She's sleeping below right now. We sailed all afternoon yesterday, with absolutely no destination in mind. When we tired of it, we dropped the anchor. Swinging in the sunshine and blue skis as I type. Can't put a dollar value on this for me.

JimsCAL 06-19-2016 07:50 AM

Sail more.

Jeff_H 06-19-2016 08:08 AM

No one can answer that question for you. As Minnewaska answer says the answer lies in how valuable your time on the water is to you personally.