NYC Harbor current/waves - SailNet Community
 11Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 09-26-2016 Thread Starter
bell ringer

NYC Harbor current/waves

I'm thinking of catching the current tomorrow down the East river from Long Island Sound to Sandy Hook. The current planning appears pretty straight forward, but I'm concerned about waves at the Battery. Tomorrow's wind forecast is 10-15 SW, which puts the current and wind counter to each other with me riding the current. I've had some hairy experience with this in Boston in the past so wonder what experience in NY Harbor others have experienced.

Don't blow air up my rear, be useful and blow it at the sails!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Don L; 09-26-2016 at 05:48 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 09-26-2016
Tartan 27' owner

Re: NYC Harbor current/waves

Don0190,

I wouldn't be too concerned about waves at the Battery in 10-15 SW winds. The fetch to the SW at the Battery is not very long (2 miles or less). Governor's Island keeps the bottom of the East River a bit in the lee as well.
I'd be more concerned about all the commercial traffic you are likely to encounter and the heliport right on the water near the Battery.
It is a fun trip (just did it about a month ago) but you need to be on your toes. Really nice to have AIS to see the commercial traffic that is just around the bend from you, heading your way. AIS will give you the name of the vessel so you can call the "skipper/captain of MV XYZ" on the VHF if you need to.
Keep VHF on 16. Ship to ship comms are either on 15 or 13.
Have fun. You will likely hit 10 knots SOG around Hell Gate/Roosevelt Island if you timed it right.

"The cure for anything is salt water~ sweat, tears, or the sea." ~Isak Denesen

Everybody has one:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.