Weird Roundup under bridge... - SailNet Community
 4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 04-12-2017 Thread Starter

Weird Roundup under bridge...

Hello All, So, yesterday, I'm out for a sail, in my 35 MorganCB. Sail about 15 miles south, on a port tack, wind out of the SE. Turn around, sail back north, starboard tack wind out of the SE and backing to East. Getting ready to go under the 520 Bridge, here in Cocoa, FL, on the Indian River. It is my habit to hug the windward bumper. I'm doing 5 or 6 knots, cruising along like I have a couple of dozen times. Remember, I'm a rookie sailor. Usually, under the bridge the wind dies off. So, I'm scooting along about 15 feet from the bumper, just got between the bumpers, everything is cool and suddenly, she starts to round up hard. No sweat, turn the wheel to port and nothing. Things are starting to happen fast, I turn the wheel hard and I can feel way more pressure on the rudder than I ever felt and the boat is still rounding up and now the boat is headed AT THE BUMPER at a 45 degree angle and picking up speed. Anybody who has done a real roundup will know what I mean. I quess I had 10 or 15 feet to go to hit the bumper and it was happening quick. I was gonna hit the damn bumper at high speed with my 8 ton boat! So, Mr Rookie sailor had enough experience under his belt to turn around and snap the main sheet out of the clam clamp and let the main go. Then she righted herself and came around, about 5 feet from the bumper and scooted on under the bridge. Boy, was that a wild 15 seconds or so. I mean, I was gonna crunch that bumper at way too much of an angle, it wasn't gonna be a side swipe. Must have been a vortex or something there under the bridge. Great learning experience and I'll be a lot more alert next time I go under a damned bridge. Kevin
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 Old 04-12-2017

Re: Weird Roundup under bridge...