Why do sailors stop sailing? - SailNet Community
 87Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 88 Old 07-25-2017 Thread Starter

Why do sailors stop sailing?

I have been sailing for 35 years as a single hander. I stopped two years ago because of a bad back, from raising the heavy mast of a 22 ft trailer yacht.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 88 Old 07-25-2017

Re: Why do sailors stop sailing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Chin View Post
I have been sailing for 35 years as a single hander. I stopped two years ago because of a bad back, from raising the heavy mast of a 22 ft trailer yacht.
I started sailing at the age of 17 and continued for the next 30 years. But when I suffered a rotator cuff tear and faced a year of rehab, I sold my 30' C&C that I had single handed for years.

After I recovered from my injury, I jumped the metaphorical ship to a 33' powerboat that was (and is) easy by comparison to single hand. It also comes with creature comforts that make overnights much more pleasant on an older body than the spartan accommodations that would be found in an equivalent sized sailboat.

Sailing is a physically demanding form of boating. As people age, suffer injuries, etc sometimes ending your sailing days becomes more of a necessity for safety rather than a choice.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G925A using Tapatalk
post #3 of 88 Old 07-25-2017