Miter Cut Genoa - SailNet Community
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Jeff_H

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 01-01-2019 Thread Starter

Miter Cut Genoa

I'm about to start shopping for a new genoa and I was vacillating between cross cut in Marblehead and radial cut in Warpdrive. Hydranet would be nice but is a bit too costly. I have been told that crosscut furls flatter but I have no experience with a radial cut headsail and I'm not sure if that is really true. I thought that miter cut sails were old thinking that had become obsolete because of better materials but then I came across the claim that miter cut furls better/flatter than crosscut. A genoa that can be part furled and still retain a reasonable shape is appealing. Anyone have any knowledge or experience that they would share?

"The great thing about the internet is that you can quote anyone and no one will bother to check the source" - Aristotle
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 01-03-2019

Re: Miter Cut Genoa

It depends on what you are doing with it. If you are racing, you should go radial. If you are cruising and plan on using your furler to reef, go with cross cut.

The cross cut sail is more tolerant of being roller reefed. It is easier to make, and easier to recut as it ages. The radial cut is probably going to have a nicer shape, and depending on the chosen material, less prone to stretch.

The Marblehead is just a basic crusing dacron cloth that has the same strength and stretch characteristics in all directions, which is why they can use a simple cross cut with it.

The Warp Drive has most of its strength along the warp of the cloth, which is why radial construction is used. The radial panels are aligned so that the stronger warp fibres are along the load paths of the sail.

If it were me I would go with the warp drive. It will be a much sexier sail imho!

Sent from my SM-G960W using Tapatalk

2011 Jeanneau 39i Azura

Last edited by SchockT; 01-03-2019 at 02:53 PM.