Seagulls Musseling In - SailNet Community
 12Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 05-10-2019 Thread Starter

Seagulls Musseling In

The seagulls in my marina are experts at plucking mussels out from under the dock floats and dropping them on the dock to crack open the shells. While this creativity is interesting, it leaves sections of the dock heavily covered in mussel shells and seagull poop. I am wondering if this is a common problem since I have limited experience keeping boats in a marina. My boat in Maine lives on a mooring and I have never observed this problem at other marinas I have visited in New England or in the SF Bay area.

Last night I decided to conduct an experiment. My rather simple hypothesis is that after scraping the mussels off of the finger docks around my boat with a garden edging tool (took about 20 minutes) I should see fewer shells and poop on my dock. We will see if this works.

My experiment got me thinking about whether the cause of the problem is just poor maintenance on the part of my marina.

My questions for the hive mind are:
• Is this a significant problem at your marina?
• Does your marina remove mussels from its floats as part of regular maintenance?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 05-10-2019

Re: Seagulls Musseling In

Our slip is absolutely covered in seagull crap and broken shells, but only in the off season. Once we all come back, they relocate. Maybe there is the occasional shell.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Jeanneau 54DS

In the harsh marine environment, something is always in need of repair. Margaritas fix everything.
post #3 of 15 Old 05-10-2019
Master Mariner

I wish we had mussels around here to have that problem!