Ideas with broadening my sailing experience in the Portland, OR area - SailNet Community
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By BoatWulf

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 03-15-2020 Thread Starter

Ideas with broadening my sailing experience in the Portland, OR area

Alright, a little background first.

I've been sailing off and on for 20 years now. Self taught from a book, starting on a little 16 foot dinghy, then moving up to a Hobie 16, and for the past few years, a 22 foot swing keel boat.

My sailing areas have all been lakes and rivers, Lake Washington up in Seattle, and various lakes around the Portland to Olympia area. Most all of my time in the past few years has been on the Columbia River.

So now comes my problem. I'm looking at getting a bigger boat, like a 28 footer. Preferably an Islander 28 (Perry), but that's beside the point. My goal is to take my gal and go from Portland to Seattle and spend the summer exploring the San Juans.

However, to get there, I'd have to go out over the Columbia River Bar, and then up the outside, which I gather can be a really challenging stretch of water.

I'm a list maker and in depth preparation guy. I don't do a whole lot just diving in, I like to be as prepared as possible.

What and where can I get some better experience before I venture out across the bar? Should I try and head down to Hood River for some big wind practice? I feel like I'm stuck in the kiddie pool area, and don't have many opportunities between kiddie pool and the deep end.

I have made friends at the local yacht club, and ideally I'd crew on someone else's boat that is already going to go that route, but I'm having a hard time finding someone that fits that bill.