Advice on sailing & sailboats - SailNet Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 12-03-2010 Thread Starter
Theoretical Sailor

Send a message via Yahoo to littlejohnw Send a message via Skype™ to littlejohnw
Advice on sailing & sailboats

I'm looking at used sailboats and researching them, but am dumbfounded as to the size of sailboat that would meet my future plans. I have no sailing experience besides being aboard them, so first I have to learn how to sail.
As a teacher, I've all summer to sail, and once I am experienced enough, wish to be able to sail somewhat long distances.
I've been looking at a 26' Pearson and a 31' Seafarer. I like both of these boats, but for long distances and living, the seafarer seems to more amenable. Would the Pearson accommodate long voyages south? Any advice would be helpful and most appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 Old 12-03-2010
Lake Sailor

littlejohnw - Welcome to Sailnet. Your question is very popular here, you may find some of your answers searching through the various threads here.

There are a number of things that you need to figure out before looking at any specific boats as well. There is budget, how many people will be staying on it, what are their sailing expectations and expected sailing skill set, where do you plan on sailing it. What is your "goal" for your sailing? Do you plan on coastal cruising or going further? There are many things that determine what boat you will "need". Its all about finding out what you want and can do and then finding the boat that fits your criteria, it's all a compromise as well. No one "silver bullet".

Poke around here and I am sure you will find some great information as this question comes up quite a lot. Keep asking questions and researching too. You will find "the one". Personally I would steer clear of full keel, heavy displacement boats as they are slow and speed is not your enemy.