Safety on board when sailing alone - SailNet Community
 47Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 54 Old 07-05-2017 Thread Starter
Novice but Stubborn

Safety on board when sailing alone

I am a complete novice. I've never sailed but my brother is going to teach me all he knows which is quite a bit. He has been racing boats for umpteen years. My plan is when I retire to buy a sailboat and live aboard in the Caribbean. I'm doing all my research now as it is a good 12 years until I can retire unless I win the lottery or find some long lost relative who just left me their fortune, lol.

I will most likely be doing all this alone and I am good with that. I am very self-efficient and am not afraid to do all this on my own. My one concern is safety. I plan on having my pistol with me and really more than one. I am not sure what the laws are about guns but am looking at that.

My question is though is there any kind of security system for sailboats to let you know if someone came onboard while you were asleep. I got to thinking if nothing else I could rig up a motion detector in the companionway which would be pretty simple.

Anyone heard of this kind of thing?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 54 Old 07-05-2017

Dock
Re: Safety on board when sailing alone

Motion detectors at every hardware store about $20.

Just because many local people in the Caribbean are black it doesn't mean you need a gun.

You need a gun more in your own country than the Caribbean.

Yes, you can sail by yourself unless you are a compete idiot.

12 years is self imposed. Get off your fat bum and save more money now and retire in 5 years. I retired at 48 and it was the best decision I ever made.

bigdogandy, jwing, Arcb and 2 others like this.

Sea Life
Notes on a Circumnavigation:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.