Opinion on buying a boat - SailNet Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 09-06-2017 Thread Starter

Question Opinion on buying a boat

I am an experienced beginner if that makes sense. I know what to do, I just need a lot more tiller time to gain the confidence. I have been crewing for the past 2 summers and have taken sailing classes. I am interested in my own boat for the primary purpose of just enjoyment, taking friends and family out (2 or 3), not racing or overnight trips. I have narrowed it down to The American 14.6 and the Hunter 15. Both seem stable, roomy and simple. Does anyone have any experience with either boat?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 09-06-2017

Re: Opinion on buying a boat

Are you buying new or used? Consider a Catalina capri 16.5 not much longer but a lot more room and sails better than the other two. a 14.6 is a bit small for 4 adults but is built well and sails good, really a for boat for two that will fit 4, the 16.5 has dry storage space and is not any more trouble to launch and is better built. Well if you want a lousy sailing, very heavy, cheaply built boat, get the hunter.

"FULL TILT II" 2011 BENETEAU FIRST 30
"GOLD RUSH" PRINDLE 16
post #3 of 4 Old 09-06-2017 Thread Starter

Thank you. I will look at the Capri. I want a newer boat (less than 5 years old) but don't need one off of the showroom floor.
post #4 of 4 Old 09-06-2017

I'm an inexperienced beginner, and I recently bought an American 14.6 that I'm very happy with. We've had 4 full-size folks in it, and didn't have any problems. It could be sailed single-handed without difficulty, and is perfect for two.

I added a tiller extension since the boat was pretty stern-heavy (especially with a small outboard on the transom). My boat doesn't have much in the way of equipment to control sail shape (no boom vang or Cunningham) but I have no intention of racing.