Hello and question - SailNet Community
Introduce Yourself Welcome to the Sailnet.com - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you.

2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 02-19-2014 Thread Starter

Hello and question

Hi all. New member here. Hard to type while a parrot with an eye patch and a peg leg is trying to balance on your shoulder and knawing on your ear. Anyway, I'm a mid-Florida resident, live on backwaters of the St Johns River, spent 30 years in Miami. Nothing so much worth doing as simply messing about in boats. Sailor, kayaker, hiker, photographer, fugitive from the sixties. I've refitted a couple of sailboats, now working on a Seaward 22.
My question to any who may know. My Seaward is missing its swing keel. Overall dimensions are pretty easy to deduce, but does anyone know how thick the original swing keel was? Appreciate any info I can get. Seawards are out there, but not so easy to find.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 02-19-2014
Tartan 27' owner

Re: Hello and question

Welcome to sailnut Scrymshaw. You will not be the only fugitive from the sixties here on SN.

SEAWARD 22 sailboat specifications and details on sailboatdata.com
That is a cute looking boat! I like the small round ports on the dog house.

According to the link ^ for the specs of the Seaward 22' the Ballast is listed as 750 Lbs.
I take this spec to mean that the center board weight is 750 Lbs. In essence: a swing keel. That weight is important for making the boat handle weather.

It also means that even if you get the right shape/outline of the center board it can't be made of lightweight stuff like 3/8" marine aluminum sheet and still expect the boat to perform well in all conditions. Your replacement center board should be as close to 750 #'s as possible.