Your Thoughts and experience needed - SailNet Community
Introduce Yourself Welcome to the Sailnet.com - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you.

1Likes
  • 1 Post By yalla

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 06-04-2016 Thread Starter

Your Thoughts and experience needed

In about 4.5 years I will be retiring. I am not a sailor at this time. I kind of have that dream of living aboard my own sailboat. At this point I have no experience, I will be taking sailing lessons next year. I would like to know the names/kinds (sizes) of some sailboats for one person that I might look at in 3 years to buy with an ability:
Sailed by one person (me)
Safe
Very easy to sail (not a lot of work, I want to relax)
Between $30,000 to $40,000 (I would have money for upgrades/new equipment)
To be able to add/change/upgrade
Strong motor
Watermaker
Generator
Solar
Refrigerator
..do think of anything else.

Thank you so much for your thinking and reply!!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 06-04-2016
Catalina 400 MKII

Re: Your Thoughts and experience needed

There are too many boats to name. So much depends on where and what your plans are. Take your classes and get out on the water. Go look at boats for sale at brokerages. Yes, they are probably above your price point, but you'll learn a lot about boats. Be upfront with the sales people about not being ready to buy yet. They don't want to waste time. However many brokerages have boats at the dock that are open and ready for inspection. A good broker will look at you as a potential buyer and will be friendly and helpful. If not, ask a different broker. Go to boat shows. Again, they are above most of our price points, but you see a lot of boats!
The more you sail the better idea you'll have of what will work for you. Have fun and enjoy the process.
post #3 of 9 Old 06-04-2016