Hello all! New to sailing, but absolutely in love - SailNet Community
Introduce Yourself Welcome to the Sailnet.com - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you.

7Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 06-16-2016 Thread Starter

Hello all! New to sailing, but absolutely in love

Hi all!

I spent years of sitting in harbors and watching the boats come in, reading up on sailing, and feeding an utter fascination with sailing. I finally got out on the water after some friends chartered a sailboat for a night and confirmed an absolute love!

I don't own a boat yet, but maybe in the next couple of years. I would love to learn more and recently moving out to Chicago, I feel I'm in a place where I can. Unfortunately I am a grad student, so I'm saving capital so that I can take a class maybe next year.

Looking forward to learning more, hearing stories, and would appreciate any and all advice about entering this beautiful world of sailing!
Zarathu likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 06-16-2016
Catalina 400 MKII

Re: Hello all! New to sailing, but absolutely in love

Go for it! I have a love for sailing that has lasted my entire life. Wife, children and now grandchildren all share it with me. Hope that you find joy, peace, excitement, challenge, … what ever your path sets in front of you. Good Luck!! My advice: Hang out at the harbor and meet people. Develop a sence of who you can trust. Go sailing a lot.

Last edited by Scotty C-M; 06-16-2016 at 11:28 AM.
post #3 of 12 Old 06-16-2016

In some ways it can be everything you ever hoped for. In other ways, you will curse the day that you ever bought the boat. Try to find a mooring outside of Chicago, your need a big outboard and 30 minutes just to find your way out of the Marina.

post #4 of 12 Old 06-16-2016
The most female moderator

Dock

Welcome to SailNet.