SailNet Community

SailNet Community (https://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Introduce Yourself (https://www.sailnet.com/forums/introduce-yourself/)
-   -   Sailor from Long Island (https://www.sailnet.com/forums/introduce-yourself/259641-sailor-long-island.html)

Goodwind90 07-19-2016 05:41 PM

Sailor from Long Island

1 Attachment(s)
Hello Sailors!

I'm new to Sailnet and looking forward to getting involved with some sailing discussions and more excited to learn from all you veteran sailors out there!

I'm 26 years old and have been sailing since I was in diapers on my father's Cape Dory 27. Growing up, I raced dinghies (opti's, blue jays, 420's, lasers) at my local yacht club in the Great South Bay, NY. The summer I graduated high school, I became addicted to windsurfing and that completely took over my life, until now. My father sold the Cape Dory to his brother about 10 years ago and bought a 1989 Tartan 28, fixed it up, and raced it for several years, but never went on long cruises. Two years ago, he decided to purchase a Sabre 34 and sell the Tartan. With my new job as a construction project manager, a few years out of college with some money in my pocket, I decided to jump at the opportunity of interest-free financing on a boat that I knew was impeccably maintained for years. So, here I am, my second summer with the boat and I'm now obsessed with cruising. My girlfriend and I have done a few over-nighters on the bay with one 4-day trip last summer and we absolutely love the lifestyle. Owning this boat has truly changed my life for the better. We spent the winter watching youtube videos of cruisers sailing around the world (Sailing LaVagabonde is our favorite) and we aspire to experience that adventure some day as well! I am now re-evaluating my career choices to find the best way to achieve this lifestyle some day as well.