Hi from Berkeley, California - SailNet Community
Introduce Yourself Welcome to the Sailnet.com - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you.

3Likes
  • 1 Post By CentralPallor
  • 1 Post By MarkSF
  • 1 Post By nhsail

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 07-19-2016 Thread Starter

Hi from Berkeley, California

I'm new to SailNet, fairly new to sailing, and extremely new to boat ownership. I did something stupid last week and bought a 1966 Santana 22. It needs work. I don't know the first thing about boat maintenance or repair, and no one has ever accused me of being handy. Not sure what came over me, but the deed is done, and now I have to get down to work. Having her hauled out, cleaned, and painted next weekend (paying more than what I spent on the boat for that, but feel it's well worth it for me). Then I have to motor her (probably) from Sausalito to Berkeley. I think I will take along one of those floating VHF hand held radios and some water wings.

Anyhow, if anyone here hangs out around the Berkeley Marina and would like help with their boat in exchange for helping me with mine, let me know. I am a great at unskilled labor and at taking direction. Also, I'm pretty good at first aid, so if you are accident prone I'm a good friend to have around when operating machinery!

I guess that concludes my intro.
nhsail likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 07-19-2016

Re: Hi from Berkeley, California

"Bought" a Tuna 22? Uh-oh.

Very popular bay boat. You should be able to get tips and parts advice anywhere. And second hand race sails. Most of the fleet is in desperate need of scrubbing and painting. Easily trailerable...dry storage saves money and saves the bottom. Sausalito to Berkeley shouldn't be a problem for any boat. Mind the channels.

"...there are two kinds of opinions, those based upon tradition ... and those having something in their favor." B. Russell