Hello SailNet! - SailNet Community
Introduce Yourself Welcome to the Sailnet.com - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you.

5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 10-18-2017 Thread Starter

Hello SailNet!

Good morning everyone!

I am new to sailing, I just passed my ASA 101 class and I am in the process of getting some hours in so I can take the 103 class and eventually purchase a 35' boat to spend all of my time and energy on.

I am in the SoCal area (San Diego) and look forward to sailing out to all of the islands down here, eventually making my way up to the Channel Islands National Park.

I have followed sailing videos for a long time now, and I am prior Navy, so I have some sailing experience, although different from traditional and/or hobby sailing. I look forward to actually enjoying it this time!

I am looking at purchasing a Beneteau, they seem like good quality boats with good craftsmanship. What is all of your opinions on Beneteau, and do you think a 35' boat would be a good boat for beginning sailing? I like that the 35 footers can make rougher passages, carry plenty of stuff, and have room for 4 or more people (usually two cabins). I know Beneteau's are more expensive than other boats, and I am ok with that. I would rather have a boat that is built with great care and attention to detail than any other boat.

Thanks everyone.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 Old 10-18-2017
Lake Sailor

Re: Hello SailNet!

Quote:
Originally Posted by day1player View Post
Good morning everyone!

I am new to sailing, I just passed my ASA 101 class and I am in the process of getting some hours in so I can take the 103 class and eventually purchase a 35' boat to spend all of my time and energy on.

I am in the SoCal area (San Diego) and look forward to sailing out to all of the islands down here, eventually making my way up to the Channel Islands National Park.