Which oceans don't have sharks thx - SailNet Community
Introduce Yourself Welcome to the Sailnet.com - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you.

50Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 44 Old 01-17-2018 Thread Starter

Which oceans don't have sharks thx

I actually had a similar landlubber based question but for bears and backpacking. Let me rewind a bit...

Hey all! I am a 32 year old male, life is going at light speed, and I work in tech around the SF bay area. I've had the dream of building a wooden boat most of my life, and sailing to far-off places. Currently, the desire to do coastal/south american/Hawaii and beyond voyages is my target.

I currently have a 1978 o'Day 23-2 that I picked up for cheap and spent way too much money and time fixing up. It's almost ready to go back in the bay again, and may sail it to Tomales/Bodega.

My experience: I sailed a few times as a kid at a summer camps. I've read many books on voyaging and a few on seamanship. Have gone out solo probably around 15 times including overnight anchoring and desperately want to go more. I also watch *all* the sailing youtube channels in the little free time that I have outside of work, real estate, fixing the boat, and music.

I plan on taking my first leave of absense/voyage in 1 to 1.5 years. I haven't managed to convince a girl (well beyond some hippie ones) to come with me yet. But I'm working on that too.
Fair winds

Last edited by afraidofsharks; 01-17-2018 at 03:07 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 44 Old 01-17-2018

Re: Which oceans don't have sharks thx

All oceans have sharks. They are in the Mediterranean sea as well. If you are really afraid of them, get one of those electric field shark repellentshttps://sharkshield.com/news/do-shark-repellents-work/

Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.
Plato
post #3 of 44 Old 01-17-2018
Lake Sailor