Hello All - SailNet Community
Introduce Yourself Welcome to the Sailnet.com - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 05-18-2018 Thread Starter

Hello All

This is my first post here. I have been a firefighter paramedic for the previous 19+ years and a Registered Nurse for 3 years, retiring in early 2019. I learned to sail at Florida Sailing Charters & sailing school in 2014. I have chartered there 4 times since completing ASA 101, 103, 104 & 105. I have never done any "blue water" sailing but hope to do so in the future. I will be moving from Indiana to Florida after retirement and hope to find a boat that is right for me. I would like to spend some time on my own boat and see if living on a boat is for me or not. I do love to sail but have not really spent a lot of time living that life style. My first priority is finding a boat that is right for me. I think that I want a full keel shoal draft boat with a skeg hung rudder. I think a boat around 40 feet would provide enough space for my wife and I. I am not that concerned about speed but strength and safety are at the top of my priorities. I have spent time on a Beneteau 44, Hunter 50CC, Catalina 35, Freedom 38, CSY 37 and an Island Packet 45. I liked the Island Packet the most but sadly I cant afford one of my own! I attended the Annapolis Boat show last year and came away with more questions than I had before I got there BUT I did discover Pussers Pain Killers! I am here looking for information and answers.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 05-18-2018
The most female moderator

Dock
Re: Hello All

Welcome Tacmedic. Please look around all of the forums. I can almost guarantee that any questions you might have about sailing and buying a boat as a new sailor have been asked. However, do not hesitate to post any questions that you still have in the appropriate forum.