Hello from New Jersey - SailNet Community
Introduce Yourself Welcome to the Sailnet.com - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you.

2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 10-08-2018 Thread Starter

Hello from New Jersey

Hello! I'm on the northern side of 40 and own a small business repairing leather, vinyl and fabric.

I just bought a new to me 1983 Starwind 19 from the son of the original owner who passed a year ago. I'm new to sailing, I've read a bunch of books, looked online at lots of websites and gone on some tourist help sail cruises. This means I'm basically clewless as far as sailing is concerned. I've owned a few power boats ranging from jet skis (sea knats), to outboard powered bow riders to pontoon boats to a tritoon including the most recently purchased new two years ago Harris tritoon which I keep on the water at a lake in New Jersey.

I'm excited to get into sailing with my 19 foot trailer sailer. I'm hoping to get her wet before this season is through in New Jersey / New York. I've been going over the boat and ordered new shrouds and a new forestay which should be arriving this week. I picked up a 6hp Yamaha outboard and I'm getting the trailer in shape to hit the road.

I'm looking forward to chatting and learning from the forum on this new adventure for me!

I have as ton of questions but may need to put them somewhere else.

I'm wondering how I set up the main sheet.

The boat has two tracks on each side of the companionway entrance with blocks. I'm thinking they are for the jib sheets. There are also swivel blocks with cam cleats just aft of the tracks.